Canada bans more countries over Omicron

Canada is banning foreign nationals from three more countries because of concerns about the Omicron variant of the coronavirus.

All air passengers arriving in the country, apart from those from the US, will have to be tested for COVID-19 upon arrival and will have to self-isolate until they get the results of their test.

Health Minister Jean-Yves Duclos says Canada is banning all foreign nationals who have travelled through Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt because of concerns about the Omicron variant.

Canada had already announced a ban on foreign nationals from seven countries in southern Africa. Canadians who have visited the 10 countries will have to be tested and quarantine.

The Canadian province of Alberta also confirmed its first case of Omicron in an individual who had travelled from Nigeria and the Netherlands.

Dr Deena Hinshaw, Alberta’s chief medical officer of health, says the person is asymptomatic.

Alberta is the third province in Canada to report the presence of the Omicron variant.

Ontario announced its first cases on Sunday and Quebec reported its first case on Monday.

News Gaffer